The Familiar Taste Of Poison

This song represents a few different things for me.

We long to be free. But during agonizing, vulnerable times, we’re unable to resist the pull.

The Familiar Taste of Poison

“Drink the wine, my darling” you said
“Take your time, and consume all of it”
But the roses were only to drain my inspiration
The promises were spoiled before they left your lips

And I breathe you in again
Just to feel you underneath my skin
Holding onto, the sweet escape
Is always laced with the familiar taste
Of poison

I tell myself that you’re no good for me
I wish you well, but desire never leaves
I could fight this till the end
But maybe I don’t wanna win

I breathe you in again
Just to feel you underneath my skin
Holding onto, the sweet escape
Is always laced with the familiar taste
Of poison

I don’t wanna be saved
I don’t wanna be sober
I want you on my mind
In my dreams, behind these eyes
And I won’t wake up
No not this time

I breathe you in again
Just to feel you underneath my skin
Holding onto, the sweet escape
Is always laced with the familiar taste
Of poison

A familiar taste of poison

7 thoughts on “The Familiar Taste Of Poison

  1. psychology4society

    I know the feeling to well, where your at a point in your life where you can’t imagine thing getting better. I would try so hard to tell myself to snap out of it, it’ll be over soon your not going to feel like this forever, but it was hopeless, there would be no changing my mind, I would feel this way forever. But looking back, now I realize those times always past, and they always did get better. Just like everything else passes, feelings do too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly that. Those moments are annoying and they pop up so often. Feeling good and positive one minute, then suddenly, seemingly out of the blue, it feels like everything is falling apart and we repeat the pattern of thinking we’ll never get through it. It’s a vicious cycle. Thanks for you comment. Going to reply to your email now. 🙂

      Like

What's on your mind?

