For The Love Of A Daughter

I was supposed to be your little girl
But you just thought about yourself
Your wants, your needs, your desires
No one else ever mattered, did they

You can never make up for all you did
Even your sorry won’t change a thing
Because you’ll never admit to any of it
Just one more thing you don’t remember

Looking at your face every day sickens me
Waiting for the day I get to walk away for good
But until that day comes I’ll do what I have to
I’ll do whatever I need to in order to survive

There are moments where I still want you
To be the father I’ve always needed you to be
Moments where I think things could be different
Yet I know that I’m just kidding myself

I hate you.

But then why do I still love you?

8 thoughts on “For The Love Of A Daughter

    1. Thanks for the hugs, my beautiful friend. I was very emotional when I wrote this. When I woke up this morning, I panicked and thought “what have I done?”. I actually wanted to delete this post. It seems I’m very brave at night, but then when morning comes I doubt things. But anyway, I gave it awhile and decided to just leave it up. After all, no harm done. ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I remember writing an open letter to my dad and how hard on the emotions that was so I can imagine how difficult this was to write. I hope writing all this has helped you as it kind of means you don’t keep it all to yourself. It’s like letting go of a balloon and having it fly as far as it can go. I hope that makes sense… Much love to you ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was very difficult, but I’m glad I wrote it. I came across this quote by Carl Jung today:
      “There is no coming to consciousness without pain.” Those words really resonated.

      The balloon metaphor makes complete sense. I’ve found that writing these posts and sending them ‘out there’ is much more healing than simply writing in a personal journal. Like you said, “having it fly as far as it can go.” ❤

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

