When Denial Dies

Underneath the thin layer of denial, lies the truth which we already know, but choose not to see.

All it took was one look. One look to rip the skin away, revealing the hideous veins underneath.

Forcing the truth into the harsh glare of the light. A light which blinds me. Not the light at the end of a tunnel. Rather, standing on my knees in the tunnel. The harsh headlights of a car coming speeding towards me, with no intention of stopping.

The force as it hits. Images flashing through my mind. Only it’s not my life flashing before my eyes, because it’s not over yet.

Lying there. Broken bones, leaving me unable to move. Blood wrapping itself around me, like a blanket, leaving my soul empty and dry. Wanting to die. Yet knowing I will live.

What's on your mind?

