Small Steps Towards Healthy Boundaries

Today was a good day. I managed to do a few things that I wanted to, and my mood has been relatively stable. I wasn’t happy, but I also wasn’t depressed or sad. Not empty either. Just normal. I can’t remember ever feeling like this. Perhaps the mood stabilizer is finally working. Whatever it is, after the depression that has been hanging around for the past month or so, this is a welcome relief. And I’m so incredibly grateful for it.

In my New Year post, I mentioned my goals for 2017. And today I’ve been thinking about my goal of setting healthy boundaries.

Boundaries have always been hard for me. I didn’t realize just how much, until I started therapy. At first, the boundaries in the therapeutic relationship made me feel hurt, angry and confused. But through the months, I’ve found that they provide me with a sense of safety and structure. My therapist knows I can cope with my emotions, and that I can deal with things that come up in my life. Hell, I’ve gotten through 32 years without her. Through some of the worst and most traumatic moments of my life, with little or no support. So I don’t need her to constantly be there for me. Besides, If I start to rely on her all the time, I’ll eventually stop putting in the effort of caring for myself. That being said, I still sometimes get annoyed with the boundaries, but those moments are few and far between. So this is an example of me needing to be respectful of other people’s boundaries. Which I’ve become quite good at. It’s not perfect, but still a big improvement.

Then there are my personal boundaries. And this is where I struggle the most. I’ve been trying to become aware of my limits. What makes me feel uncomfortable and unsafe. I’m still in the learning stage. But we have to start somewhere right? I need to start putting myself first more often. One of my current problems is discovering a boundary I need to set, but then being unable to fully implement it. I feel bad and guilty about having that boundary up. If someone pushes a little, I cave. But I can’t expect myself to become perfect at setting and sticking to them overnight. So I’m not going to be too hard on myself.

I came across this inspiring Ted talk today. It was just what I needed to hear.

16 thoughts on “Small Steps Towards Healthy Boundaries

  1. Watched the video – I definitely relate. And I’m so sorry about your heartache; I know things have been really rough lately. It is hard to find motivation during these times, and you are. You’re still working hard to care for yourself and I feel a lot of respect for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Rachel for your kind words. This is one of my favourite Ted talks so far, and has given me some much needed motivation, which I hope sticks for a little while at least. I’m glad you watched the video. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so pleased to hear things are improving for you. Thank you for posting this it was really informative. Setting boundaries can be hard but its worth it. I have collapsed boundaries too many times and I am realising this much more lately. We have to take care of us, no one else can do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing that video. I want to let you know I see so much growth in you. Boundaries are tough, so tough, especially when your nos weren’t respected. It takes away from the power of your yes. Good for you for rebuilding that – it’s inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you PD! It’s a powerful video, and probably my favourite Ted talk now. I came across it at the perfect time, but can’t remember how I stumbled onto it, lol. I really appreciate you saying that you see growth in me. That means so much, and gives me hope and encouragement to just keep pushing forward. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good to hear I’m not the only one who struggles with boundaries! I’ve been learning so much just in the past few years. I’m thinking, “Why didn’t someone teach me this years ago!?”

    Like

What's on your mind?

