Emmengard’s Suicide Scale

I’ve been dealing with suicidal ideation for the past two weeks. It varies in intensity, and aside from a few “happy” moments here and there, is almost constantly in the background. I try to keep myself distracted where I can. I’ve been going to group again, mostly because I feel it’s a source of support in a way, especially with my therapist being away. During the last one I had a sort of mini breakdown directly afterward and before going home, reached out to the psychologist who had led the group. We sat and spoke for a little while, and I left feeling a bit better having gotten some of the emotion and thoughts out. It’s not easy for me to open up in group, especially when it’s as big as it was that evening, so I’m grateful to that therapist for making some time for me afterward.

The next day I came across this image. It’s not always easy to explain to people (or even myself) how bad I’m really feeling, so this “scale” is helpful. I find images and cartoons so much easier to understand, as it tends to make abstract concepts easier to grasp. I’ve basically been on the 6th block, and even though it’s overwhelming at times, I can cope with it. I know that when I’m getting further along, it’s time to get help.

What do you think? You can view the full sized image on the website listed below (opens in a new tab/window).

Emmengards Suicide Scale
Source: https://emmengard.com/2019/05/07/suicide-scale/

8 responses to “Emmengard’s Suicide Scale”

  1. Sorry to hear that you’re feeling low 😦 I hope things begin to ease up and you’re able to move back to 5 at least. It was a very interesting share, that chart makes it much easier to understand. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am in suicidal ideation today too, Rayne. I am sorry yours has been going on for so long. I am grateful your group has a leader to help you because when I go to 12 step groups and spill my guts I often feel worse afterwards when no one reaches out. I am going to have a look at the cartoon when I can enlarge it as its hard to see right now. But just wanted to reach out and send you love. I hate this crushing feeling at the moment. I feel today anywhere but alive would be a better place to be. 😦 (Sorry I know this is depression speaking but I gotta be honest!!)

    Liked by 2 people

What’s on your mind?