The Calm…

The past couple of weeks I was in a bit of a “crisis mode”. You only need to look at my last few posts to know that.

But yesterday that slowly started to change. And today… Well, today is different.

I had a few moments of reflection yesterday and earlier today, and learned a few things about myself which I might post about at a later stage. I’ve been working on something from my past, as well as deciding that it was time to let go of my last relationship completely. A weight seems to have lifted. The darkness, the negative energy I had been holding with regards to that, has dissipated. I can breathe…

I indulged in some self care this morning, which is something I desperately needed. I just didn’t know how much.

My mind has slowed down. No more racing thoughts tumbling over one another. Complete peace. I can’t remember the last time I felt so… Calm.

No overwhelming emotions. No anxiety. Not happy. But not sad. An inner stillness…

Decided to go sit outside on the balcony for a little while. The sun was veiled behind what looked like mist that had taken over the sky. It was pleasantly warm. Not a breathe of wind. Just still. Quiet. Is my environment reflecting me, or am I reflecting it? Maybe it’s both. I feel at one with the world. I smiled at a stranger walking down the street. She smiled back and waved, and I felt a warmth deep inside. I could hear her singing as she continued walking past. Connection. Moments. That’s what life’s about.

I would love to just hug someone right now. And have them hug me back. But not just anyone. Someone I have a connection with. I’m having a “spread the love moment”. Maybe you can do that. If you’re near to someone who you have a special connection with, and even if you’re angry at that person, go give them a hug. No talking, just being mindful of the moment. It’s about pure, genuine connection. Take it in completely. It might just change something.

And there’s something else surrounding me too…
Hope.

The calm before the storm? No. The storm has passed.

(Decided to do some quote searching and found these gems. Click on them for the full image)

6 responses to “The Calm…”

  1. What a heart-warming post! It came up in my email and I was like YAY, it’s my honorary soul sister Rayne! And then to read such a positive post is double awesome 😀 The quotes you’ve found are really special and I love how you write. I feel emotionally cleansed reading this after my difficult psychiatrist appt, grrr! 💙 Qbee x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, lovely. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 Sorry to hear that you had a difficult session… Hopefully it was also healing. The hardest ones sometimes are. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, you’re probs right. I’m glad I went, even though it was hard going, so it must have been useful. Thanks lovely 💜💜

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you were able to find that inner calm place (and the balcony is such a lovely image of peace). It feels nice, when we can find those moments without the anxiety and distress and turmoil. Definitely moments to be savored.
    And I Love that first quote, the proverb. Very powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

What’s on your mind?