Dear Death

Dear Death,

You may think you’ve won. You tried to beat me down. You sent all the storms you could throw at me, trying to get me to give up. You knocked me down, you bruised me, but I got up again. You almost had me a few times, but I defeated you over and over again.

You sent an army. But I have something you’ll never have. I have Love. Love stood by my side. I was never alone.

You’re angry with me. Well, I’m angry too.

But I will use this anger to show you just how strong I am. To continue fighting your darkness.

You can throw all the bad memories and nightmares at me that you want. But I won’t give up. I may fall apart, I might break, but give up… I won’t give you the satisfaction. The power.

I may be overwhelmed and broken right now, but I will not give in to you. I will not be kept down. I will rise again, and when I do I’m going to take the world by storm.

One day you’ll get what you want. But not today.

Today I choose Life.

10 responses to “Dear Death”

    • Thanks for reading, and for your lovely comment. I’m not always confident or this determined. Sometimes it’s a case of “fake it till you make it”. 😉

      Like

  1. Sounds like there is some intense emotion happening right now, and I like how you are talking to yourself and championing strength and resiliency. Sending support and strength to add to your army 🙂

    Like

What’s on your mind?